Welcome to Redefining Myself!

My inward journey to living a mindful and quality life

while living with NP-SLE, RRMS and CIDP

and their overlapping accessories.

Slapping the face of many things demyelinating.

Friday, September 30, 2011

Two Types of Fatigue in Demyelinating Disease:

In demyelinating (neurological) diseases, there are two types of fatigue: primary and secondary.

Primary fatigue is thought to be caused by the disease process itself and is caused by the demyelination in the central nervous system. The slowing of messages from the brain and spinal cord and a buildup of muscle weakness combined, can be a cause of primary fatigue.

Secondary fatigue is not directly caused by the disease itself; but occurs when the body tries to compensate for the symptoms caused by the illness. For example, sleep disturbance can be common due to spasms, pain or bladder problems. This will contribute to illness related fatigue. Side effects from medications, stress, depression and other symptoms can all cause secondary fatigue.

*To date, Fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome/ME are not classified as degenerative demyelinating neurological diseases; nor do either show clinical evidence of demyelination.